Created in 2016, the awards are intended to reward financial institutions that integrate environmental criteria into their activities and investment policies.

Congratulations to this year’s winners: AXA, Barclays, Federated Hermes, and ERAFP!

In October 2020, financial institutions from around the world were once again recognized for the quality of their climate-related reporting at the International Climate Reporting Awards. This third edition of the Awards was organized by the French Ministry for the Ecological Transition (CGDD), the French Agency for Ecological Transition (ADEME), and the non-profit think tank 2° Investing Initiative, with support from a standard-setters advisory board composed of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) and the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI).

Building on leading global standards, including the Task force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) and the EU Non-Financial Reporting Directive, the Awards aim to recognize financial institutions that integrate climate-related considerations into their reporting and business practices.


  • Banks Category: Barclays

  • Asset Owners Category: AXA

  • Asset Managers Category: Federated Hermes

  • Jury’s Prize: ERAFP

It was the first time that Barclays, Federated Hermes and ERAFP were recognized at the International Climate Reporting Awards, and the third time for AXA, the global insurance giant.

Building the foundation for the new Climate Transparency Hub

The awards announcement comes ahead of the launch of the Climate Transparency Hub (CTH) slated to go live in January 2021. The CTH is an online platform for monitoring, identifying, and promoting best climate reporting practices for French financial institutions, developed as part of the Finance ClimAct project coordinated by ADEME, with the support of 2DII and the other members of the consortium (the CGDD, l’Autorité des Marchés Financiers, l’Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution and I4CE).

The CTH builds on the Climate Reporting Awards’ assessment grid developed by 2DII with the support of ADEME and CGDD. Additionally, it incorporates the best practices identified by the Awards Jury. The CTH thus aims to equip French financial institutions with the resources they need to anticipate regulatory reforms at the broader European level.